Victorian Institute of Sport

2020 Hockey squads announced

Sunday, 24 November 2019

The Australian men’s and women’s 2020 hockey squads have been announced, and feature nine VIS athletes.

The return of some familiar faces and the inclusion of two rising stars highlighted the announcement of the 2020 Hockeyroos squad - the new additions include VIS athletes Laura Barden and young gun Amy Lawton, who has been been elevated to a permanent spot in the 27-player squad.


The squad selected by Head Coach, Paul Gaudoin, was based on a range of factors underpinned by having personnel who will provide the Hockeyroos with the best chance of succession what is a huge year, beginning with the FIH Pro League in late January and leading into Tokyo 2020 in late July.


“Whether it has been VAA (Visiting Athlete Agreement) opportunities performances in the DTE (Daily Training Environment) and in international matches, form in the Sultana Bran Hockey One League, as well as the history of some of the girls, all of these factors have been taken into account,” said Gaudoin.


“It’s a very well balanced squad. We’ve included some experience and quality… of course it’s disappointing to lose girls out of the squad but it’s a part of evolving the Hockeyroos.”


“Performance on the field is extremely important, as is performance off the field, and we need girls who are going to set the standards high in how they go about it on and off the field, and I’m confident the five girls who have been added will do an excellent job of that.”


Victorian Institute of Sport’s Amy Lawton made her Hockeyroos debut in the Pro League against New Zealand, played in the Tokyo Test Event and since then has not looked back having been part of the Hockeyroos team for the Oceania Cup and recent Olympic qualifying series win over Russia.


“Amy is a quality player and has come into our group seamlessly and performed extremely well when she’s played for Australia,” said Gaudoin.


The Hockeyroos’ next official international is on 25 January 2020 in Sydney against Belgium in their opening match of the FIH Pro League 2020. Tickets are available through Ticketek.


Hockeyroos 2020 squad
Name, Date of Birth, Hometown, Hockey One Team, Caps (Goals)

Laura Barden, 9/06/1994, Kew VIC , HC Melbourne, 42 (5)
Jocelyn Bartram (gk), 4/05/1993, Albury NSW, NSW Pride, 48 (0)
Edwina Bone, 24/04/1988, Orange NSW, Canberra Chill, 197 (4)
Lily Brazel, 26/01/1995, Sydney NSW, HC Melbourne, 50 (1)
Emily Chalker, 28/07/1992, Crookwell NSW, NSW Pride, 235 (82)
Jane Claxton, 26/10/1992, Adelaide SA, Adelaide Fire, 177 (18)
Kalindi Commerford, 18/11/1994, Ulladulla ACT, Canberra Chill, 45 (7)
Madison Fitzpatrick, 14/12/1996, Cabarita Beach QLD, Brisbane Blaze, 74 (16)
Greta Hayes, 17/10/1996, Sydney NSW, NSW Pride, 6 (0)
Kate Jenner, 5/05/1990, Mudgee NSW, NSW Pride, 122 (1)
Jodie Kenny, 18/08/1987, Wamuran QLD, Brisbane Blaze, 229 (111)
Stephanie Kershaw, 19/04/1995, Townsville QLD, -, 59 (6)
Amy Lawton, 19/01/2002, Emerald VIC, HC Melbourne, 10 (3)
Rachael Lynch (GK), 2/07/1986, Warrandyte VIC, HC Melbourne, 220 (0)
Rosie Malone, 8/01/1998, Burleigh QLD, Brisbane Blaze, 46 (10)
Karri McMahon, 27/02/1992, Berri SA, Adelaide Fire, 147 (10)
Georgina Morgan, 15/05/1993, Armidale NSW, NSW Pride, 93 (18)
Gabi Nance, 29/07/1994, Kingscliff NSW, Adelaide Fire, 70 (7)
Kaitlin Nobbs, 24/09/1997, Newington NSW, NSW Pride, 76 (4)
Brooke Peris, 16/01/1993, Darwin NT, Canberra Chill, 167 (26)
Karri Somerville, 7/04/1999, Kensington WA, Perth Thundersticks, -
Grace Stewart, 24/04/1997, Gerringong NSW, NSW Pride, 81 (24)
Renee Taylor, 28/09/1996, Everton Park QLD, Brisbane Blaze, 77 (8)
Sophie Taylor, 12/09/1995, Melbourne VIC, HC Melbourne, 31 (1)
Ashlee Wells (GK), 1/08/1989, Morwell VIC, Adelaide Fire, 119 (0)
Mariah Williams, 31/05/1995, Parkes NSW, NSW Fire, 81 (15)
Georgia Wilson, 20/05/1996, Mahogany Creek WA, Perth Thundersticks, 33 (0)


The 27-player Kookaburras squad was also announced for next year’s bumper international calendar, headlined by the Tokyo 2020 Olympics and defence of the FIH Pro League title.


The majority of this year’s squad that qualified for Tokyo 2020, won the inaugural Pro League and secured the world number one ranking have been retained, with exciting young talent, 20-year-old VIS athlete Nathan Ephraums included in the squad.


Ephraums was a member of this year’s National Development Squad and performed outstandingly during the recent Sultana Bran Hockey One League.


Kookaburras Head Coach Colin Batch said the Ephraums’ form over the past 12 months more than warranted his selection; “Nathan had some good performances in Hockey One but it is also what he has done over a period of time when he has trained with us in VAA (Visiting Athlete Agreement) opportunities, and he was also part of our build up for the Oceania Cup.”


“He has performed well every time he has come into our group. He’s got a great attitude, wants to learn, is really exciting around the attacking circle and finishes well.”


“Our goal is to play well at the Olympics. Our preparation has to be good all the way through. We start training in early January and then Pro League begins in late January so for us the focus is to keep improving and maintain that enthusiasm and excitement.


The Kookaburras’ next internationals will be their opening matches of the FIH Pro League 2020 on 25/26 January against Belgium in Sydney. Tickets for the matches are available now through Ticketek.

The team that will represent Australia at Tokyo 2020 is expected to be announced in mid June.

Kookaburras 2020 squad
Name, Date of Birth, Hometown, Hockey One Team, Caps (Goals)

Jacob Anderson, 22/03/1997, Mackay QLD, Brisbane Blaze, 19 (8)
Daniel Beale, 12/02/1993, Brisbane QLD, Brisbane Blaze, 171 (28)
Josh Beltz, 24/04/1995, Hobart TAS, Tassie Tigers, 39 (3)
Tim Brand, 29/11/1998, Chatswood NSW, NSW Pride, 34 (15)
Andrew Charter (gk), 30/03/1987, Canberra ACT, Canberra Chill, 177 (0)
Tom Craig, 3/09/1995, Lane Cove NSW, NSW Pride, 97 (27)
Matthew Dawson, 7/04/1994, Killarney Vale NSW, NSW Pride, 132 (12)
Johan Durst (gk), 18/03/1991, Melbourne VIC, HC Melbourne, 3 (0)
Nathan Ephraums, 9/06/1999, Keysborough VIC, HC Melbourne, -
Blake Govers, 6/07/1996, Wollongong NSW, NSW Pride, 97 (83)
Jake Harvie, 5/03/1998, Dardanup WA, Perth Thundersticks, 64 (3)
Jeremy Hayward, 3/03/1993, Darwin NT, Tassie Tigers, 149 (62)
Tim Howard, 23/06/1996, Wakerley QLD, Brisbane Blaze, 54 (1)
Tyler Lovell (gk), 23/05/1987, Perth WA, Perth Thundersticks, 141 (0)
Kurt Lovett, 15/01/1997, Parkes NSW, NSW Pride , -
Trent Mitton, 26/11/1990, Perth WA, Perth Thundersticks, 168 (75)
Eddie Ockenden, 3/04/1987, Hobart TAS, Tassie Tigers, 358 (70)
Flynn Ogilvie, 17/09/1993, Wollongong NSW, NSW Pride, 103 (21)
Lachlan Sharp, 2/07/1997, Lithgow NSW, NSW Pride, 42 (8)
Josh Simmonds, 4/10/1995, Melbourne VIC, HC Melbourne, 15 (0)
Matthew Swann, 16/05/1989, Mackay QLD, Brisbane Blaze, 198 (7)
Jack Welch, 26/10/1997, Hobart TAS, Tassie Tigers, 8 (2)
Corey Weyer, 28/03/1996, Biggera Waters QLD, Brisbane Blaze, 38 (3)
Jacob Whetton, 16/06/1991, Brisbane QLD, Brisbane Blaze, 197 (64)
Tom Wickham, 26/05/1990, Morgan SA, Perth Thundersticks, 48 (20)
Dylan Wotherspoon, 9/04/1993, Murwillumbah NSW, Brisbane Blaze, 86 (30)
Aran Zalewski, 21/03/1991, Margaret River WA, Perth Thundersticks, 183 (23)


The Tokyo 2020 Olympic hockey tournament pools have also been announced this week. The Kookaburras have been placed in Pool A alongside Spain, Argentina, New Zealand, India and Japan, while the Hockeyroos will face Spain, Argentina, China, New Zealand and hosts Japan Pool B.


No comments have been posted yet.

Post a comment