Victorian Institute of Sport

Five named in Para-Cycling World Champs Team

Thursday, 06 June 2019

Cycling Australia is pleased to announce the 14 athletes selected to the Australian Team for the 2019 UCI Para-cycling Road World Championships to be held from 12-15 September in Emmen, the Netherlands.

The VIS would like to congratulate the five VIS athletes named in the team; Carol Cooke, Stuart Tripp, Emily Petricola, Alistair Donohoe and Hannah Macdougall.

It has been a stellar opening to the 2019 international season for Australian para-cyclists with a 24-medal haul, including eight gold, captured across the first two rounds of the 2019 UCI Para-Cycling Road World Cup season in May. 

Seven-time world champion Carol Cooke, reigning world champion Emilie Miller (NSW), and newcomer Paige Greco (SA) have been selected following their superb start to 2019 which sees them wearing the World Cup leader's jerseys in their respective categories. 

2019 World Champion on the track Emily Petricola receives her first road team selection, with 2018 Road World Championship medallists Kaitlyn Schurmann (VIC), Hannah Macdougall and Meg Lemon (SA) also selected. 

Reigning road champion Alistair Donohoe, dual Paralympic champion David Nicholas (QLD) and Darren Hicks (SA) will all be eager to add a road world title to the rainbow jerseys claimed at the 2019 Track World Championships in March. 

The Australian Team will contest the third round of the World Cup in Canada in August ahead of September's World Championships. 

Offering valuable qualification points towards the Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games, the Championships will see the Australian Team vie against 200 of the world's best from 30 countries in the road races and time trials. 

Australian Team

* Selection dependent upon further medical signoff

Credit:Australian Cycling Team / Cycling Australia


No comments have been posted yet.

Post a comment