Victorian Institute of Sport

Last-ever Champions Trophy team announced

Thursday, 01 November 2018

At the conclusion of the AHL tournament, Hockey Australia today announces the 18-member Hockeyroos team which will compete at the upcoming and last-ever FIH Champions Trophy in China. The squad includes VIS scholarship holders Hayley Padget, Lily Brazel, Rachael Lynch and Ashlee Wells.

VIS’ Lily Brazel’s selection comes at no shock after an impressive AHL tournament saw her take the honours of ‘Women’s Player of the Tournament.’ Brazel will look to continue her form later this month when the series kicks off from 17-25 November in Changzhou, China.

The Hockeyroos who finished fourth at the World Cup in July, were last in action at the Japan Nations in September, with several changes from that team, including the welcoming return of experienced Victorian Institute of Sport goalkeeper Rachael Lynch.

VIS’ Lynch was recently named the AHL ‘Women’s Goalkeeper of the Tournament’ so her return to the Green and Gold will boost the Hockeyroos’ defensive stocks.

Hockeyroos head coach Paul Gaudoin says that whilst we want to win, the development of our players for the upcoming 2020 Tokyo Olympics is also on the radar.

“We want to identify the right athletes who’ll help us prepare for 2020, so we’ve taken the opportunity to expose some new athletes to the international arena, but we still have some core athletes.” Gaudoin said.

“Among the new additions are those who’ve had some good form in the AHL and those who we’ve been keeping an eye on for a fair period of time.”

One of those is VIS’ very own Hayley Padget, who gets her opportunity at her first major senior international tournament with the Hockeyroos after overcoming a series of setbacks. Padget made an impressive international debut at the Four Nations Tournament earlier this year, scoring in her opening game.


 (Hayley Padget dribbling in her debut for the Hockeyroos at the Four Nations Tournament earlier this year | Photograph: Hockey Australia)

Third-ranked Australia will come up against hosts China (ranked 11th), defending champions Argentina (fourth), Olympic champions Great Britain (England ranked second), world number one Netherlands and the invited Japan (14th).

The Champions Trophy, will be the last-ever edition of the event which has run since 1978 before next year’s introduction of the new FIH Pro League.

Australia are six-time champions and five-time runners-up but haven’t won the title since 2003.

“We’re certainly looking at taking a team to China that can win the Champions Trophy,” Gaudoin said.

The Hockeyroos team is due to fly to China on Monday 12 November ahead of their opening game against Argentina on Saturday 17 November from 7pm (AEDT). All matches will be televised LIVE on FOX SPORTS.


Hockeyroos’ 18-member Champions Trophy team:

Edwina Bone (Orange, NSW) *Plays for ACT

Lily Brazel (Sydney, NSW) *Plays for VIC

Jane Claxton (Adelaide, SA)

Kalindi Commerford (Mollymook, NSW) *Plays for ACT

Madison Fitzpatrick (Cabarita Beach, NSW) *Plays for QLD

Rebecca Greiner (Bundaberg, QLD)

Greta Hayes (Sydney, NSW)

Jodie Kenny (Wamuran, QLD)

Stephanie Kershaw (Townsville, QLD)

Rachael Lynch (Warrandyte, VIC)

Karri McMahon (Berri, SA)

Ambrosia Malone (Burleigh, QLD)

Kaitlin Nobbs (Newington, NSW)

Hayley Padget (Doncaster, VIC)

Brooke Peris (Darwin, NT)

Emily Smith (Crookwell, NSW)

Penny Squibb (Tambellup, WA)

Ashlee Wells (Morwell, VIC) *Plays for SA


Hockeyroos 2018 Champions Trophy schedule (all times AEDT):

Saturday 17 November 7pm – Australia v Argentina

Sunday 18 November 5pm – Australia v Great Britain

Tuesday 20 November 5pm – Australia v Netherlands

Thursday 22 November 7pm – Australia v China

Saturday 24 November 5pm – Australia v Japan

Sunday 25 November – Finals


No comments have been posted yet.

Post a comment