Victorian Institute of Sport

Kookaburras Team named for Darwin

Monday, 03 September 2018

Hockey Australia today announced the 20-member Kookaburras team for the upcoming Darwin International Hockey Open (DIHO) and two Tests against Argentina, which included uncapped VIS scholarship holder Josh Simmonds.

The world number one Kookaburras will compete against Argentina (ranked second), Malaysia (12th) and Japan (16th) in the DIHO from 18-22 September at Marrara Hockey Centre.

Australia will also play 2016 Rio Olympic gold medallists, Argentina, in two Tests on 14th  and 16th September at the same venue.

The matches are all crucial preparation for the Kookaburras leading into the 2018 Men’s World Cup in Bhubaneswar, India, starting in November where Australia will defend their world title.

Uncapped 22-year-old Victorian defender Josh Simmonds has been called up to make his debut for the Kookaburras.

Kookaburras coach Colin Batch says that Simmonds selection comes as a result of his significant commitment and dedication.

 “He’s a really dedicated athlete, who is well prepared and it’ll be nice to see him get his debut.” Batch said.

The Kookaburras are due to arrive in Darwin on Wednesday 12th September.

Tickets are available for the DIHO matches via Ticketbooth from $10 for children and $15 for adults:

The matches will not be streamed. Fans can follow @Kookaburras on Twitter for live updates.

Kookaburras team for DIHO & Tests vs Argentina:

Athlete (City, State)

Jacob Anderson (Mackay, QLD)

Daniel Beale (Brisbane, QLD)

Josh Beltz (Hobart, TAS)

Timothy Brand (Chatswood, NSW)

Andrew Charter (Canberra, ACT)

Tom Craig (Lane Cove, NSW)

Matthew Dawson (Killarney Vale, NSW)

Kieran Govers (Wollongong, NSW)

Jake Harvie (Dardanup, WA)

Jeremy Hayward (Darwin, NT)

Tim Howard (Wakerley, QLD)

Tyler Lovell (Perth, WA)

Eddie Ockenden (Hobart, TAS)

Flynn Ogilvie (Wollongong, NSW)

Joshua Simmonds (Doncaster, VIS)

Matthew Swann (Mackay, QLD)

Corey Weyer (Biggera Waters, QLD)

Jack Welch (Hobart, TAS)

Dylan Wotherspoon (Murwillumbah, NSW) *Plays for QLD

Aran Zalewski (Margaret River, WA)


No comments have been posted yet.

Post a comment