Victorian Institute of Sport

Two selected for Champions Trophy

Monday, 28 May 2018

Hockey Australia today announced the Kookaburras 18-member team for next month’s Champions Trophy, which included VIS’ Aaron Kleinschmidt and Johan Durst.

The national selectors have made five changes from the team that won gold at the Commonwealth Games, with the inclusion of uncapped Durst into the side.

Durst was recently added to the National Senior Men’s Squad as a goalkeeper, following the retirement of Tristan Clemons earlier this month.

The Kookaburras have won the Champions Trophy 14times, but will endure a tough battle coming up against hosts Netherlands (ranked fourth), Argentina (2016 Olympic gold medallists and ranked second), Belgium (ranked third), India (ranked sixth) and Pakistan (ranked 13th).

The tournament is set to take place in Breda, the Netherlands, from 23 June to 1 July.

Australia will play Germany in two lead-up test matches in Moers on Saturday-Sunday 16-17 June ahead of the Champions Trophy.

In other Kookaburras news, Hockey Australia on Friday confirmed Joshua Simmonds has been added to the National Senior Men’s squad.

Simmonds, who is a Victorian Institute of Sport scholarship holder, is uncapped at international level but was part of Australia’s 2016 Junior World Cup team and Victorian sides which have won back-to-back Australian Hockey League titles.

Kookaburras coach, Colin Batch was pleased to elevate Simmonds onto the national list.

“Josh comes into the squad to add depth to our defensive options, in light of Mark’s [Knowles] retirement.” Batch said.

“He’s a promising defender who is highly driven to succeed at international level and has earned this opportunity.”


No comments have been posted yet.

Post a comment