Victorian Institute of Sport

Gourley named co-captain of Australian Paralympic team

Monday, 23 October 2017

Two time Paralympian and VIS scholarship holder, Mitchell Gourley, has been named as one of the two co-captains who will lead the Australian Paralympic team at the 2018 PyeongChang Winter Paralympic Games.


The alpine skier was named alongside para-snowboarder Joany Badenhorst. The pair will work closely with Australian Paralympic Committee (APC) and Chef de Mission, Nick Dean, to unite the team and emulate the cohesive culture established by the Australian Paralympic Mob culture in Rio 2016 Paralympic Games.


“Our co-captains will not just bring the Team together, but will encourage the continuing development of our unique Australia Paralympic culture, which will provide a critical platform for success on the global stage in PyeongChang,” said APC Chief Executive Lynne Anderson.


Gourley made his debut for the Australian team at fifteen years of age in 2006, before going on to win his first international gold medal in 2011 in the Giant Slalom at the IPC Nor-Am Cup. Gourley represented Australia at both the 2010 Vancouver Paralympics and the 2014 Sochi Paralympics. In 2016, Gourley experienced a breakout year, winning his first world title in the Super Combined before finishing his season on a high, taking home the IPC World Cup Crystal Globe.


“It’s exciting and humbling to be named as co-captain for PyeongChang with Joany. We didn’t officially have captains for the last couple of Winter Games but we were lucky enough to have some incredible leaders over that time and I hope I can pass on some of what they taught me,” Gourley said.


“Ultimately, I want this team to not only feel proud that they are a part of The Mob, but I really want them to believe in their ability to play a role in continuing to build it as something that our entire Paralympic family can all be proud of.”


The PyeongChang 2018 Paralympic Winter Games will take place from 9-18 March in South Korea.

Image: Australian Paralympic Committee


No comments have been posted yet.

Post a comment