Victorian Institute of Sport


The VIS cycling program comprises two structured sub-programs, Road Cycling and Track Cycling, and services an exciting group of world class athletes from junior through to Olympic and professional level.

VIS cyclists train according to individual programs, with road and track cycling in and around metropolitan, country Victoria and interstate, complemented by physical preparation work.

As well as training and competition support, the program provides athletes with medical, sport science, physiotherapy, psychology, nutritional and ACE services.

Through participation in training camps and daily training sessions, athletes push themselves and each other to obtain world class performances. The development of each athlete is monitored by program staff through regular monitoring and testing

News image

Roseman-Gannon competes at London Six Day Series

Monday, 28 October 2019

VIS track cyclist, Ruby Roseman-Gannon, took over our Instagram page as she competed at the London Six Day Series cycling event held from the 20 October – 25 October.

News image

Promising performances at Oceana Track Championships

Monday, 21 October 2019

The Oceania Track Championships 2019 were recently held in Invercargill, New Zealand with some promising performances from VIS athletes.

News image

Jones claims maiden National Road Series podium

Monday, 14 October 2019

VIS cyclist Ashlee Jones claimed her maiden National Road Series podium at the Sam Miranda Tour of the King Valley over the weekend.

News image

Australian Para-Cyclists top gold medal tally

Monday, 16 September 2019

Victorian Institute of Sport's cyclists are celebrating after finishing on top of the gold medal tally at the 2019 UCI Para Road World Championships in the Netherlands.

News image

O'Brien wins Tour of the Great South Coast

Monday, 02 September 2019

Victorian Institute of Sport cyclist, Kell O’Brien, won the Australia NRS Tour of the Great South Coast over the weekend.

News image

Two in Two Days

Monday, 19 August 2019

VIS’ Sam Gallagher headlined the 2019 UCI Junior Track Worlds in Germany last week with two silver medals over two days.

News image

Cooke claims gold at World Cup Time Trial

Monday, 12 August 2019

VIS para-cyclist, Carol Cooke, claimed another victory at the ICU Para-Cycling World Cup in Canada, finishing with a time of 19mins 39secs on the 9.45km course.

News image

Five named in Para-Cycling World Champs Team

Thursday, 06 June 2019

The VIS would like to congratulate the five VIS athletes named in the team; Carol Cooke, Stuart Tripp, Emily Petricola, Alistair Donohoe and Hannah Macdougall.

News image

Cooke and Macdougall win silver

Monday, 13 May 2019

Victorian Institute of Sport’s Carol Cooke won dual silver at the 2019 UCI Para-Cycling Road World Cup campaign, while Hannah Macdougall placed second and third in her Time Trial and Road Race respectively.

News image

Frislie leads VIS Track Nats charge

Monday, 15 April 2019

The Victorian Institute of Sport cyclists had a fantastic Track Nationals campaign with eight first places including four of those to Graeme Frislie.

There are currently no event items.



Australian National Championships, Sydney

Shane Perkins - 1st Men’s Keirin, 3rd Men’s Team Sprint

Braeden Dean - 1st U19 Men’s 1km TT & Team Sprint, 2nd Men’s Sprint

Jay Castles - 1st U19 Men’s Team Sprint, 3rd U19 Men’s Sprint

Alex Morgan - 2nd Men’s Individual Pursuit

Jacob Schmid - 2nd Men’s Keirin, 3rd Men’s Team Sprint

Caitlin Ward - 2nd Women’s 500m TT & Team Sprint, 3rd Women’s Keirin & Sprint

Matt Ross - 2nd U19 Men’s 10km Scratch, 3rd Men’s Team Pursuit

Lucas Hamilton - 3rd Men’s Team Pursuit

Alex Morgan, Shane Perkins, Jacob Schmid and Caitlin Ward – Selected into ‘Long Squad’ for 2014 Commonwealth Games

Alex Morgan and Caitlin Ward named male and female Victorian Track Cyclists of the Year 2013/14, respectively.


International & Domestic

Jess Allen - 1st Women’s Oceania Road Championships

Lucas Hamilton - 1st U19 Men’s Oceania Road Championships, 1st Stage 2 & 3rd Stage 3, Mersey Valley Tour (National Junior Men’s Selection)

Tessa Fabry - 1st General Classification, 2014 Battle on the Border (NRS) & 2nd Overall General Classification, Mersey Valley Tour (NRS)

Tom Hamilton - King of the Mountains Classification winner, Jayco Herald Sun Tour

Alex Morgan - Selected into Jayco-AIS U23 World Tour Academy Squad

Associate Scholarship Holders

Simon Gerrans - 1st Liege-Bastogne-Liege, 1st General Classification, Tour Down Under (UCI World Tour Race), 1st Australian Elite Road Championship, Victorian Sportsperson of the Year, 3rd Amstel Gold Race

Simon Clarke - 1st General Classification, Jayco Herald Sun Tour                

Cadel Evans - 2nd General Classification, Tour Down Under (UCI World Tour Race)

Shane Kelly OAM

Track Sprint Coach

Glenn O'Shea

Track Endurance Coach

Training Venues

VIS Gymnasium

Darebin International Sports Centre (DISC)

Various metropolitan and country road training courses


Bikesportz Distributors

Santini Clothing

Lazer Helmets



Cycling Australia

Cycling Victoria

Other Cycling athletes