Victorian Institute of Sport

Beaver awarded Optus Community Award

Sunday, 29 October 2017

VIS scholarship holder, Josh Beaver has been honoured in the Swimming Australia Gala Awards Dinner in Adelaide on Sunday night.

Awarded the 2017 Optus Community Award, Beaver capped off an already successful weekend at the Australian Short Course Swimming Championships.

Rio Olympian Josh Beaver took out the Men’s 200m Backstroke title, defeating Japanese star Daiya Seto (1:55.20) and Rio Olympian Travis Mahoney (1:55.36) in a time of 1:54.88.

Fellow VIS scholarship holder, Jess Hansen, will be bringing home a medal in each colour after finishing top 3 in each of her breaststroke events at the Australian Short Course Championships.

Hansen kicked off her championships campaign with a bang, winning the Women’s 100m Breaststroke (1:05.61) in an upset against 2012 Olympic gold medallist Rūta Meilutytė (1:05.69).

She continued her good form in the 50m Breaststroke, touching the wall just behind winner and Rio Olympian Georgia Bohl (30.57) and Rūta Meilutytė (30.81) to take the bronze in a time of 30.86. While in the 200m Breaststroke, Hansen touched three seconds behind Olympian Taylor McKeown (2:20.55) to finish second (2:23.50) and round off her weekend on a high.


No comments have been posted yet.

Post a comment