Victorian Institute of Sport

Johannesburg Bound

Monday, 19 June 2017

Three VIS scholarship holders have been named in the Kookaburras squad for the Men’s World League Semi-Final.


Kiran Arunasalam, Aaron Kleinschmidt and Josh Pollard have been selected in the side bound for Johannesburg. Their selection follows impressive performances from all three VIS athletes at recent Kookaburras competitions including the Azlan Shah Cup, where the Australian side finished second.


The World League Semi-Final is an important competition for the Kookaburras, acting as a qualifier for the World League Final held in India in December, as well as the 2018 World Cup.


In development news, four VIS athletes have been selected for the Hockey Australia Development tour to Germany and Holland.


Johan Durst, Josh Simmonds, Max Hendry and Jayshaan Randhawa have been named by Hockey Australia in the team of 20 to tour Europe in late July.


Hockey Australia has said the tour will further the team's development of skills and experience at an international level, when they face up against  Germany and the Netherlands.


No comments have been posted yet.

Post a comment